Login | Register


All times are UTC - 7 hours


It is currently 2019-Sep-22 5:00 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Reiterate praetors counsel
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-27 1:49 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2008-Nov-08 5:27 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Canberra
If I used reiterate on an opponent's praetor's counsel would there be any point to paying for buyback? I assume I would get reiterate back from the GY if I didn't.

_________________
BAN WILLOW SATYR

DCI Level 1 Judge.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reiterate praetors counsel
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-27 1:53 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2009-Feb-11 7:00 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
you would have to buy back otherwise after the counsel had resovled and sent your GY back to hand the reiterate would finish resolving and get put into the yard.

Cards that effect the removal of GY's end up as the only card in the yard at the end of it all

_________________


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reiterate praetors counsel
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-27 3:36 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2009-Jun-19 6:32 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
^ Incorrect.

Once Reiterate has created a copy of Praetor's Counsel and placed it on the stack, Reiterate goes into your graveyard, and then there's another pass of priority before the copy of Praetor's Counsel resolves. If it does, Reiterate will be among the cards that are returned to your hand.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reiterate praetors counsel
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-27 3:42 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2009-Feb-11 7:00 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
I forgot the original will go into the yard then the second counsel will return it.

_________________


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reiterate praetors counsel
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-27 3:43 am 

Joined: 2011-Sep-30 6:08 am
Age: Elder Dragon
You put the copy onto the stack. It does not resolve during the effects of Reiterate.

Reiterate will be in the GY by the time your Council copy resolves, and it will be returned.

_________________
Spectrar Ghost wrote:
Cryocerete (sp?)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reiterate praetors counsel
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-27 3:49 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2009-Feb-11 7:00 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
But any other spell that targets the GY such as archangel's light, will that get shuffled or be stuck on its own in the yard?

_________________


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reiterate praetors counsel
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-27 4:41 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2007-Sep-10 2:51 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Rittman, OH USA
thedarkheart wrote:
But any other spell that targets the GY such as archangel's light, will that get shuffled or be stuck on its own in the yard?

You do all the things a card says, then you put it in the graveyard. So with things like Archangel's Light, it will stay in the yard.

_________________
My card alter blog: The Phyrexian Renaissance


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reiterate praetors counsel
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-27 7:45 am 

Joined: 2011-Sep-30 6:08 am
Age: Elder Dragon
The copy is put on the stack during the resolution of Reiterate. The copy does not resolve until all players have received priority and Reiterate has long since done its thing and been put in the graveyard.

Archangel's Light shuffles in your graveyard, then it finishes resolving and gets put there.

Reiterate makes a copy. It doesn't become a copy. See the difference?

_________________
Spectrar Ghost wrote:
Cryocerete (sp?)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reiterate praetors counsel
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-27 7:56 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2009-Feb-11 7:00 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Ok quick question, say I give archangel's light flashback for a turn, does it actually get exiled or does it go into my deck as I shuffle my graveyard into my library???

_________________


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reiterate praetors counsel
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-27 8:13 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2010-Sep-01 2:34 am
Age: Elder Dragon
thedarkheart wrote:
Ok quick question, say I give archangel's light flashback for a turn, does it actually get exiled or does it go into my deck as I shuffle my graveyard into my library???

It gets exiled.

_________________
Current decks: Sheoldred, Whispering One, Kaalia of the Vast
Working on: Vela the Night-Clad, Riku of Two Reflections, Zedruu the Greathearted


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reiterate praetors counsel
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-27 8:47 am 

Joined: 2011-Sep-30 6:08 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Archangel's Light will never shuffle itself in. Flashback has nothing to do with it.

Also, spells resolve from the stack, not from your graveyard, even if you cast them with flashback.

_________________
Spectrar Ghost wrote:
Cryocerete (sp?)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reiterate praetors counsel
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-27 2:47 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2008-Oct-14 7:43 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
One reason you might still want to buyback is to play around graveyard hate, since a buybacked spell goes straight from the stack to your hand rather than taking a detour in the graveyard where it can be the target of all sorts of nasty Coffin Purges or whatever.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron